Love and Forgiveness

Luke 7:47 KJV
Wherefore I say unto thee, Her sins, which are many, are forgiven; for she loved much: but to whom little is forgiven, the same loveth little.

Jesus was talking about a woman who was directly referred to in the story as a sinner. She wasn’t introduced by her name or her place of origin. Being a sinner may have been her widespread reputation. She became Jesus’ example of a principle: the amount of forgiveness a person receives from someone has a direct proportionality to the amount of love a person has toward that someone.

I’ve been forgiven so much by God. That’s why I love Him so much. I humbly and regrettably admit though that He has forgiven me immeasurably more than I love Him. And I want to and need to love Him so much more.

This is true even with my wife. I’ve wronged her so much; she has forgiven me so much; I love her so much. The worst the sins she’s forgiven me of,  the more the love I have towards her and the more the love I want to have still.

Lord, Thank You for Your great love and forgiveness. May I love you more. Thank you for a very loving wife who had forgiven me much. May I love her more.

Leave a Reply

